RFID

Radio frequency identification (RFID) systems generally consist of three components: an antenna and transceiver (often combined into a single device) and a transponder (the tag). The antenna transmits a signal that activates the transponder, which then transmits data back to the antenna. Because RFID does not require direct contact or line-of-sight scanning, RFID tags are replacing barcodes in many applications.RFID

RFID technology is used in production, warehousing, retail etc. for localizing and tracing objects, but it can also be used for identifying, localizing and tracking people (eg. through smartcards, access badges etc.) in an RTLS solution.

There are different types of RFID tags: active and passive tags.

  • Passive tags: passive tags don't have an internal power supply and remain passive until they receive just enough energy from the RFID reader to send a signal. This signal is very weak and limits the reading distance of the tag to maximum a few metres.
  • Active tags: active tags do have an internal power supply (battery) which privides enough energy for the tag to send a signal to the reader. The signals are stronger which increases the reading distance considerably compared to passive tags up until a few hundred metres. Active tags can therefore also be used in difficult environments where metals or liquids are present. A specific type of tags can be used for condition monitoring to monitor temperature, humidity and CO2.

PHI DATA is available to evaluate with you which RFID technology suits your application best. We work with leading hardware suppliers and provide the support to successfully implement your RFID solution. Contact us with your questions on RFID.

 

Watch the video of our asset management solution with RFID.

 

Please also read what our customers are saying about our solutions with RFID technology:

RFID

Les systèmes RFID (Radio Frequency Identification) sont généralement constitués de trois éléments: un émetteur-récepteur et une antenne (souvent combinés en un seul appareil) et un transpondeur (le tag). L'antenne émet un signal qui active le transpondeur, qui transmet alors les données vers l'antenne. Parce que la RFID ne nécessite pas de contact direct ou une lecture avec visibilité, les tags RFID remplacent les codes barres dans de nombreuses applications.RFID

La technologie RFID est utilisée dans la production, l'entreposage, la vente au détail, etc pour la localisation et la traçabilité des objets, mais elle peut également être utilisée pour l'identification, la localisation et le suivi des personnes (par exemple par le biais de cartes à puce, badges d'accès, etc.) dans une solution RTLS.

Il y a différents types de tags RFID: passifs et actifs.

  • Les tags passifs: les tags passifs ne disposent pas de leur propre source d'énergie et sont passifs jusqu'à ce qu'ils obtiennent assez d'énergie à partir du récepteur RFID pour renvoyer un signal. Le signal est très faible de sorte que la portée de lecture du tag est limitée à quelques mètres.
  • Les tags actifs: les tags actifs ont une source d'énergie interne (batterie) de sorte que le tag a assez de puissance pour envoyer un signal au lecteur. Les signaux ont plus de pouvoir ce qui rend la distance de lecture beaucoup plus grande que pour les tags passifs. Il peut atteindre quelques centaines de mètres. En outre, les tags actifs peuvent également être utilisés dans des environnements difficiles, par exemple où il y a du métal ou des liquides. Un type spécifique de tags peut être utilisé pour la surveillance d'état et mesurer ​​la température, l'humidité et le CO2.

PHI DATA est disponible pour évaluer avec vous la technologie RFID adaptée à votre application. Nous travaillons avec les principaux fournisseurs de matériel et offrons un soutien pour la mise en œuvre réussie de votre solution RFID. Contactez-nous avec vos questions sur la RFID.

 

Regardez la vidéo sur la gestion des actifs à l'aide de RFID.

 

Lisez ce que nos clients disent à propos de nos solutions avec la technologie RFID: